[Blog Post]: 5 Things You Need To Know Before You Buy Gold Jewelry: (with Pictures)

The Purity Of The Gold:

The karat is the unit used to measure how pure the gold is, mostly you will find 4 different karats in the market : 24K, 22K, 21K, and 18K.

  • The 24K  means 24 units out of 24 pure gold  in numbers it’s 99,9% pure gold, we take 24 as a reference.
  • The 22K means 22/24 units, mathematically expressed as 22/24*100= 91.6 so the 22K is 91,6% pure gold + 8.4% other metals.
  • The 21K is 87.5% pure gold + 12.5% other metals.
  • The 18K is 75% pure gold + 25% other metals.

The reason behind adding other metals to the gold is to make it stronger, the pure gold is extremely soft as a metal and can be easily damaged, and that’s why we advise you to go with low karat gold jewelry if you are going to buy a ring or a bracelet because the jewelry in your hand are highly exposed to friction against surfaces and hard objects, keep in mind that the higher the karat the softer the gold jewelry is, also the higher the karat, the more yellow the gold looks.

5 Of 6

Pages ( 2 of 6 ): « Previous1 2 34 ... 6Next »
Stylish Ladies
error: Content is protected !!